NEWSFLASH

I MADE THE CALL TODAY (actually, they called me as I was staring at the phone while trying overcome procrastination) TO INITIATE THE CHEMOTHERAPY PROCESS AT UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN.

On Thursday, June 18, 2009, my appointments begin at 11:15 with a “blood draw” and “labs”, 12:15 appt with Dr. Schott, followed by time spent in the “skills lab” to become familiar with my new routine, drugs, side effects and how to try to counteract them.

Then sometime in the afternoon I will have an infusion of the chemotherapy drugs. For this  first time, I will receive  the drugs Taxotere and Cytoxin infused separately, so the nurses can monitor me for possible immediate side effects.  This process alone will take three hours (or more).

THE PLAN AT THIS POINT IN TIME is to receive the chemo mix for four treatments, three weeks apart.  So, if all goes well, I will be finished with chemotherapy by the end of August.

Stay tuned for more details on my big summer adventure.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

