Serious anxiety

OK, so now I am getting a serious case of anxiety about a visit tomorrow with a new doc for me…Dr. Hayman, Radiation Oncologist.  I have been sending him vibes of  “no radiation for Kay-Lynne” but I don’t know how strong my super-powers are this week.  And, to top it off, I think I have not researched everything I should have in preparation for this visit.  Because, of course, I don’t know where to begin. 

All I know is, if I have to do radiation, it will complicate the already messy business of breast reconstruction.  I just want to be done with the chemo (only 2 more treatments to go!) move on to the endocrine therapy (more commonly known as hormone therapy) and try to claim my life back. 

I know it has only been 6 months since this roller-coaster ride began, I shouldn’t be whining about it.  I’m doing pretty good and I should just be thankful.  And I am.  Just want to skip being irradiated.

If you have any helpful hints for me…..questions to ask the new doc, please don’t hold back.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Serious anxiety”

  1. Diana Says:

    Kay-Lynne,
    Many women do not suffer skin-altering after-effects of radiation, the nurse who actually gave me some of my treatments, was recovering from her chemo and doing radiation herself while administering mine. She passed it off as nothing. Because I was so terrified of it, I made a pact with myself to only go as long as I could stand it, and then quit if it got too bad. The worst part was blisters I got, which I later discovered was an allergic reaction to the creme they gave me – not the radiation. I know you are concerned about the appearance of your chest when all this is behind you, but right now you are saving your life. And it is a very cool life from what I have gathered during our short friendship – with or without the balcony.
    Diana

Leave a Reply

