The whole hair story in 6 pictures

So this is what I have been working on lately….actually, photographer Bill Jordan has been doing all the work.   Tell me what you think. 
 
Who's this cute girl and where did she go?  This was taken before my surgery in May, when I still had all my original parts, including all that curly hair!

Who's this cute girl and where did she go? This was taken before my surgery (bilateral mastectomy and partial reconstruction) in May 2009. I still had all my original parts, including eyebrows and all that curly hair! At this moment in time, I honestly can't imagine I'm ever going to look like this again.

 

 

The last hair picture.  Just before I got the shortshort haircut I needed a little fortification.
The last hair picture.

 

 

Shortly after my first chemotherapy treatment in the middle of June '09 I decided to get a shortshort haircut so that when I lot my hair it wouldn't be such a shock.  This was harder for me to take than I thought it would be.  I couldn't get used to this look at all.  Didn't matter much though, the $50. haircut only lasted about a week before it fell apart.  Literally.
Shortly after my first chemotherapy treatment in the middle of June ’09 I decided to get a shortshort haircut so that when I lost my hair it wouldn’t be such a shock. This was harder for me to take than I thought it would be. I couldn’t get used to this look at all. Didn’t matter much though, the $50. haircut only lasted a few days before it fell apart. Literally.

 

 

When even my shortshort hair was falling out just by running my fingerrs through my hair I couldn't stand it anymore and got my head shaved.   coolPaula's daughter Mattie did the job in their backyard, giving me a mohawk first before completing the job.  I felt giddy, funny, crazy, and goofy and had about as much fun as humanly possible as losing your hair to chemotherapy can be.
When my shortshort hair began falling out in bunches I couldn’t stand it anymore and got my head shaved.  coolPaula’s daughter, Mattie “buzzed” my head in their backyard, giving me a mohawk first before completing the job. I felt giddy, funny, crazy, and goofy and had about as much fun as humanly possible as losing your hair to chemotherapy can be.

 

 

This is pretty much how I spent my summer vacation.  That notebook went everywhere with me, it's where every appointment and important imformation is recorded.   Yea, I know, it's not a pretty picture, an even less pretty memory.  On this particular day I received the disappointing news that yes, I should consider radiation.  I wasn't ready for that news.
This is pretty much how I spent most of my summer vacation. That notebook went everywhere with me, it’s where every appointment and important bit of information is recorded. Yea, I know, it’s not a pretty picture, an even less pretty memory. On this particular day I received the disappointing news that yes, I should consider radiation. I wasn’t really ready for that at all.
 
 
This was one of the more fun days in August, when I tried on several "Cranial Prosthetics" at Renee's Survival Shop.  This is the "Karen" wig....isn't it amazing how hair changes your apearance?

This was one of the good days in August, when I tried on several "Cranial Prosthetics" at Renee's Survival Shop. This is the "Karen" wig....isn't it amazing how hair changes your appearance? I had a blast going through a dozen different "looks", but in the end did not buy one. I have a few borrowed wigs, but only wear them when Charlie asks me to. Must be hard to be eight and have a mom with a shaved head who runs around hatless....

 

All photos were taken by William Jordan.  He’s been a busy guy this summer, as he has followed me to nearly every doctors appointment, while also running his business, preparing for a unique Art Gallery Opening and Show, completing other photography jobs, plus running his urban farm (real crops and chickens, too!)   If you would like to see more of his work go to:  http://www.williamjordanphotography.com/

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “The whole hair story in 6 pictures”

  1. Rinky Dink Says:

    I love the photos. When my hair fell out and I gained steroid weight, I was a chunky column with a rounded lid. My daughter said I looked like a tube of Ban Roll-On deodorant. And she was right.

    You, on the other hand, look gorgeous. I like the long-hair look on you, but completely understand the decision to go wigless for the most part. That’s what I did, too.

    Wish someone had given me a mohawk.

    Hope the radiation is soon nothing more than a pesky memory. I think of you daily, girl.

  2. Heather Says:

    OH KayLynne,
    How beautiful you were and still are!!!! As hard as you think it is remember that your boys still admire you and know that you are going to kick this cancer in the butt. You are teaching them about what it is to remain strong in your faith, and yet have faith in others. You are a great role model, and a wonderful person too!!
    Have a great day!!!

  3. Cheryl Deutsch Says:

    You look beautiful! Actualment, tres avant guard! The black and white medium is wonderful. It conveys the heaviness you’re confronting (and CONQUESTING) (I know that’s not a word) (!) However, your words are filled with hope and good energy. Tell Charlie, after the chemo, the hair that grows in, is often even prettier! That’s not a bald-faced lie! He and your friends might even be a little jealous.

    However, you may need to wear some hats during winter. Brr-r-r-r on those icy lake winds. I will phone you tonight after a work meeting. Love to you and Lou, and Louie, and of course, Charlie! You’re all in my thoughts; I just haven’t put them in words.

  4. gaely Says:

    What great photos and what a process in which to deal with. You have a perfect head KayLynne and I absolutely love the mohawk giggles and the straight hair gives you a look I would have never recognized. You are still that “cute girl”….gotta love those expressions in those photos that so portray that. Thank you for sharing these with us.
    With oceans and oceans of love with just as many hugs to you and the “boys”.

Leave a Reply

