big day tomorrow

Short post, I’m beat. 

Tomorrow is a big day………..I’ll find myself in yet another chemo suite, but this time to receive an infusion of Zometa the drug that I was randomized to for the Bisphosphonates trial.  This is the drug that is supposed to make my bones stronger…the idea is that IF my cancer is still lurking somewhere and has ideas of metastizing to another part of my body a little less expendable than my breasts (like my bones) this will reduce the likelihood of a recurrence.  

I had struggled with the decision to sign on to this study for weeks and weeks, and once I made my decision last August, it was  temporarily closed.  The study just opened again last week, and this Thursday was the last date I could get in.  So last Friday I completed more blood work, they decided to accept my dental work completed in September, and today more blood work.

Tomorrow, I go to the chemo area of Hickman Cancer Center at Flower Hospital, receive a relatively short infusion, supposed to be 15 minutes.  I’d be lying if I told you I wasn’t nervous.  My last experiences with infusions were lengthy and kind of dramatic with side effects.  But, this is a completely different kind of drug.  (I’m thinkin’……) 

Tried to get a half day sub, but no good ones were left, so I’ll just do another marathon.  Leave the house at 6:00 to 6:30, work until 1:50, get a friend to cover the last class, and fly to Flower for the 2:30 infusion.  Hopehopehope it doesn’t take too long because I have an appointment with the radiators at 3:30 to sear my skin some more. 

Who ever said radiation is easier than chemo lied.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “big day tomorrow”

  1. Cheryl Deutsch Says:

    By now you’re probably winging your way to Flower for the infusion. Zometa! ZAP to the cancer cells stealthily looking for some marrow to hide in.

    I hope your afternoon goes smoothly. Can you tell the “chefing” radiators the cooking instructions are for RARE! Where did they get the idea you wanted a crisp breast? Love to you and ALL.

    • kaylynne50 Says:

      Thanks Cheryl, I hadn’t considered that they got the wrong “doneness” setting on the big ol’ fryer!

Leave a Reply

