2 1/2 hours for H1N1 at 70°

Waited outside at St. Luke’s Hospital for 2 1/2 hours for the H1N1 flu shot, and fortunately it was a lovely 70° here in NW Ohio.  Had a camp chair to sit in and wonderful people in line around me who demanded that I move the chair way ahead so I didn’t have to keep getting up and moving around.  Each time they caught up to me, one of the dads in my section of the line would move the chair ahead again.  How lucky for me since I am in a constant state of “ouch” right now.

Mostly I try to ignore it, and if I am engaged enough I am moderately successful until I reach for something, or pick up anything heavier than a gallon of milk.  With either hand.  Even though the burnt skin is only about 12 square inches on my left chest, just about any motion from the waist up causes that skin to move and it can hurt just a little or a whole lot.  Sometimes it is just “ouch” and other times it is like razor blades slicing at my skin.  I have good pain meds that I take before bedtime and big deal motrins I take during the day.  It is no fun having this pain, but I am taking things in stride right now.  Lots of people have it way worse than me, and as long as I can function, I’m not going to hit the vicodin during daylight hours.

Tomorrow I get to go to The Victory Center for a session of reiki and sound therapy with Tom.  I have great hopes that he can “center” my poor burned, bruised,  and tired body.

Leave a Reply

