new stuff

So.  I am learning new stuff all the time.  The blood clot business is giving me a new area to research.  Here was my ten-dollar question for the day:  Exactly what does PT/INR stand for?  See, now that I have blood clots my daily regimen includes getting a blood test.  Daily.  Holidays and everything.   I can stop getting blood tests daily when my PT/INR levels go up….which is what the daily blood test is for… 

So, according to www.coumadin.com, the PT/INR allows your doc to monitor how effective the blood thinning drug Coumadin is working for you.  PT stands for Protime test or Prothrombine time depending upon which website you choose to believe and INR is International Normalized Ratio.  So I know what the words mean, and……….?

From: www.labtestsonline.org       “The test result for PT depends on the method used, with results measured in seconds and compared to the average value in healthy people. Most laboratories report PT results that have been adjusted to the International Normalized Ratio (INR) for patients on anti-coagulant drugs. These patients should have an INR of 2.0 to 3.0 for basic “blood-thinning” needs. For some patients who have a high risk of clot formation, the INR needs to be higher – about 2.5 to 3.5.”

Anyways, on day one of new drug regimen, my PT/INR level was 1.0.  Doc called me two hours after test, increased my dosage of my new drug Coumadin.  Today, PT/INR level went up to 1.1.  A disappointing increase.  Another increase in Coumadin.   I guess I am going to go on like this on a daily basis for awhile….in the meantime, everything else is kind on hold, until this new malady straightens itself out. 

It requires real effort to not be bummed out about this.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

